LEARNER'S PERMIT

To receive a learner’s permit at the Department of Public Safety (DPS), the student has two options:

  • Option 1: complete 10 hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction at Sooner State Driving School, and take the Completion Certificate along with the items listed below, and the written test will be waived by DPS

  • Option 2: complete 10 hours of classroom instruction along with the items listed below, and take the written test, given by DPS (20 multiple-choice questions)

Required items for the Department of Public Safety:

  • Be at least 15 ½ years old

  • Show original contract from Sooner State Driving School or present the Completion Certificate

  • Have original birth certificate (or other primary ID) and know your social security number.  See complete list on pages 1-1 and 1-2 of the Oklahoma Driver's Manual

 

  • If a student is under 18 years old, a parent or legal guardian must accompany the applicant to sign an authorization certificate form required by law.  If not born in the USA, the student must show valid documentation of legal resident status or proof of citizenship.

  • For Oklahoma Real ID, additional documents are required.  To see complete list visit realid.ok.gov.